top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMonica Simmons

Hearty Harvest Veggie Dish



Happy fall!


Today I'm sharing a recipe for a veggie dish I made recently. I had some odds and ends that I wanted to use up, and they came together into a flavorful and colorful side dish.


Hearty Harvest Veggies

Time involved: approximately 40-45 minutes total

Servings: 3 (easily doubled)


Ingredients:

  • 1 sweet potato

  • 1 cup of grape tomatoes

  • 1 cup of chopped carrots

  • 1.5 tablespoons of olive oil

  • salt to taste

  • pepper to taste

  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder

  • 1 teaspoon basil

Instructions:

Sweet potato

The sweet potato will take the most time, so do this first. I had done this a few days prior when I was making a whole batch of sweet potatoes, so I was using up the leftovers.

  1. Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.

  2. Peel the sweet potato (this is optional, but it's what I like to do.)

  3. Chop it into bite-sized cubes (about an inch thick)

  4. Drizzle with 1 tablespoon of olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Mix so that the oil is evenly spread.

  5. Roast in oven for 20-25 minutes, tossing halfway through. Remove when tender.

Carrots and tomatoes

  1. Heat remaining olive oil in pan over medium heat.

  2. Chop carrots into bite-sized pieces (tip: using baby carrots makes this step much simpler!).

  3. Sauté carrots for about 4 minutes.

  4. Meanwhile, cut grape tomatoes into half length-wise. Once the carrots are mostly done, add the tomatoes to the pan and sauté until they are all tender.

Putting it all together

  1. Add roasted sweet potato into the pan. Incorporate garlic powder, basil, and additional salt and pepper (if needed).


That's it! Roasting the sweet potatoes is the most time-consuming part of this, but since I often have roasted sweet potatoes on hand, I had some ready to go. I love how this came together into something that is savory as well as naturally sweet due to the veggies involved.


This dish makes great leftovers, so I packed it for my lunch the next day.

I love how fall-appropriate the warm oranges and reds of this dish are!


What is your favorite way to prepare sweet potatoes?

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page