top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMonica Simmons

My Favorite Gluten-Free Products


Some of my gluten alternative staples


Gluten-free alternative products have been gaining popularity, as the demand only continues to increase. When my mom was a teenager and developed a gluten intolerance, the people she spoke to at the health food store then had never even heard of things like bread and crackers being made without gluten (at the health food store, may I remind you). It is safe to say that a lot has changed since then, with new product releases finding new and innovative ways to do without gluten. Still, while we know that gluten-free products are less inflammatory than traditional wheat products, and they are necessary for many people who cannot eat gluten, the quality of these products is often questionable.


That's why I'm here to share a list of my favorite tried and true gluten-free products!


I have broken this list into different categories and included images and links to the products to help you find them. Since I do most of my grocery shopping at Kroger, I also included the current prices of the products there to give an idea of what they cost.


A couple of disclaimers: my gluten sensitivity is relatively mild, so I don't always worry about things like cross-contamination. You know your own limits better than I do, so if you have celiac disease, please don't take my word about what I can personally eat as law! Also, I have no connection with any of these companies, so these are my completely honest and unbiased opinions.


Breakfast


My favorite cereal is the Cascadia Farm Gluten-Free Berry Vanilla Puffs Cereal (4.49 for 10.25 oz). It is sweet and light, with a nice balance between the berry and vanilla flavors.


When it comes to waffles, I love Kroger's Simple Truth Gluten-Free Blueberry Waffles (3.49 for 11.3 / 8 waffles). These are super easy to keep in the freezer and then pop in the toaster for a tasty breakfast.


Bread



I’ve tried quite a few gluten-free breads, but Rudi’s Gluten-Free Original Sandwich Bread is my go-to. It is available at Kroger in the frozen section ($6.49 for 18 oz). While I still always toast my bread to reduce its doughiness, this option is less doughy and thick than some other gluten-free breads I’ve tried. I try to get my bread when it’s on sale, though, because while it is a staple of my diet, it is not exactly cheap.


Pasta

Y'all, I love pasta so much. Possibly the great tragedy of my life is that a lot of gluten-free pasta sucks. (One time, my roommate was making dinner for us and called me over in a panic because the gluten-free spaghetti she was using was sticking together in a massive clump, and she was worried that she did something wrong. I had to tell her that gluten-free pasta just kinda does that.)


Tip: to prevent your gluten-free pasta from sticking together, take it out of the hot water once it's cooked and immediately run cold water over all of it. This will stop it from continuing to cook and will prevent the individual pieces from sticking together as much.


The best gluten-free spaghetti I have found is the Jovial Organic Brown Rice Spaghetti ($4.29 for 12 oz at Kroger). When I have served it to others who usually eat gluten, they actually have been surprised that it was gluten-free, which is impressive!



As for packaged mac and cheese, I have enjoyed Annie’s Gluten-Free Mac and Cheese ( $3.79 for 6 oz) However, this product is not dairy-free. I am still on the hunt to find a good mac and cheese with no gluten and no dairy.


Pizza



There are a lot of newer frozen gluten-free pizzas I have not tried yet, but I like the Caulipower Stone-Fired Margherita Cauliflower Crust Frozen Pizza (8.99 for 10.9 ounces). Since the crust is made with cauliflower, it feels light and refreshing, whereas other pizza can feel very heavy and greasy. I like the margherita option because it has a lot of tomatoes, which I enjoy. When I last had this pizza, I added some turkey pepperoni when I baked it to give me more protein, which worked well.


Snacks



Luna LemonZest Nutrition Bars ($13.49 for 12 bars) These have a fair amount of sugar and processed vegetable oil, so they are not the most healthy option. However, they have 8 grams of protein and have often gotten me through as a meal substitution when I am in a rush.


For a lighter snack, I recommend Made Good Chocolate Chip Granola Bars (4.99 for 6 bars). These taste good but are best for a lighter snack since they are on the smaller side, with only 2 grams of protein.



One long-time favorite of mine comes from Larabar: the Larabar Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Vegan Gluten-Free Snack Bars (9.49 for 8 bars at Kroger) These bars are very simple, with minimally processed ingredients, making them a great healthy option. They have 5 grams of protein. Their flavor options can be pretty hit or miss, in my opinion, but my favorites are peanut butter cookie, cashew cookie, and peanut butter chocolate chip.




For something to munch on that is a bit sweet, I like the Simple Truth Gluten-Free Animal Crackers ($2.79 for 8 oz). While these are a little on the dry side for my taste, they are nice to pair with hot tea.


Dessert

I’m still working on finding my favorite gluten-free flour and baking mixes, but here are some ready-made desserts I have enjoyed.

Did you know that Oreo makes gluten-free cookies? I only found out about these Oreo Double Stuf Gluten-Free Chocolate Sandwich Cookies ($4.49 for 14.03 oz) pretty recently, and I was thrilled when I did! While I don’t often buy these for myself, these are a go-to for me if someone asks what sort of treat they can serve me at an event, because they are pretty easily accessible coming from a big brand like Oreo. There is a regular gluten-free Oreo, as well as the gluten-free Double Stuf version, but I would always choose the Double Stuf option when given the choice. A friend of mine did a test to compare this to regular Oreos and said that there was hardly any difference, which is impressive!



While Oreos are a classic, I love a softer cookie, and the Enjoy Life Gluten-Free Snickerdoodle Soft Baked Cookies ($4.99 for 6 oz) deliver on that front! These cookies are fluffy and cinnamon-y without being overpowering.


While the search for good gluten-free alternatives is a continual journey, I hope you found some helpful information here! What are some of your favorite gluten-free products?

13 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page