top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMonica Simmons

What I Eat in a Day

Today I'm sharing what a daily line-up of food often looks like for me!


In all honesty, this is an idealized version of my daily diet. There are definitely days that I eat more processed food or skip breakfast. Healthy eating is a journey. But I hope that this might give you some ideas for meal planning!


One of my favorite cooking tips is to meal prep when I can, so I like cooking a lot of a food at a time and then eating it for the next few days. That may sometimes lead to my roommate walking by and asking why on earth I am cooking chili at 11 p.m., but I still am a big proponent of seizing the opportunity to cook whenever I can. For the foods shown here, I had cooked some salmon that ended up being the star of the show.


Breakfast


For breakfast, I have been making a lot of oatmeal recently. When I plan ahead enough, I like to make overnight oats that I leave in the fridge overnight and then have ready to go in the morning. This day, I made some traditional oatmeal, topped with a tablespoon of chia seeds, a few chopped strawberries, and a drizzle of honey.



Lunch


For lunch, I usually pack food I can bring to work or campus. This day, I used the salmon I had to make a salad with spinach, strawberries, red onions, and a balsamic vinaigrette (I used this dressing recipe). This turned into a really delicious and surprisingly aesthetically pleasing salad!


Snack


I often have a snack in the afternoons in between my classes. Some fresh fruit like grapes and a granola bar like a Larabar are some of my go-to snacks.


Dinner


For dinner, I usually have a little more time to make something a little more involved. Pictured here is a meal I made with more salmon, some baked spaghetti squash, garlic potatoes, and sautéed tomatoes. For this particular dinner, I had already cooked the spaghetti squash, salmon, and potatoes the weekend before, and I just threw in a few tomatoes with some salt and pepper to add a little extra something.


I hope this helps give some insight into how I typically eat! Do you have any go-to dishes that can be meal prepped?


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page